tooxclusive logo here

Top 10 Nigerian Music Albums of 2018

| - Leave A Comment

2018 witnessed lots of album releases from your favourite Nigerian music artistes. Some of these albums did quite well in the journey to restoring the album culture back to the consciousness of Nigerian music fans.

Many of the albums were top-notch which made 2018 a successful year for the music industry, some even left 2018 to creep into the new year (2019), continously banging in the speakers of many fans who are enjoying the melody, rhythm, lyrics and hypnotic sounds.

In this light, we bring you the top 10 Nigerian albums of 2018.

  1. “Outside” – Burna Boy

Burna’s “Outside” album was released on the 26th of January, 2018. The album consists of 13 tracks with just two features, it houses beautiful tracks such as “Ye,” “Heaven’s Gate” ft Lilly Allen, “Sekkle Down” ft J Hus, “Giddem” and many more.

2. “No Bad Songz” – Kizz Daniel

NBS” was released on the 30th of November, 2018, with the album coming with 20 tracks. The album features 9 artistes with “One Ticket” ft Davido serving as its lead single. The album is definitely living by its title; “No Bad Songz” as tracks like “Madu,” “Poko,” “Tere” ft Diamond Plantnumz and many others are currently doing justice to the minds and legs of music lovers.

3. “Lagos To London” – Mr Eazi

Mr Eazi released a masterpiece in “Lagos To London” album, he featured quite a number of artistes, local and international artistes. The album consists of 15 tracks that are truly enjoyable.

The album also attained staggering levels of streams on spotify and other streaming platforms just days after its release. The album was released on the 18th of November, 2018 and it won’t be suicidal to say the album has attained fascinating success so far.

4. “Oso” – Brymo

27th of March, 2018 played host to the album release of one of Nigeria’s foremost music composers; Brymo. His “Oso” album which is a composition of pure art and utmost expertise at song writing consists of 11 classic tracks. “Banuso,” “No Be Me,” “Heya,” “Mama” and all others are true innovations in terms of music composition and production. Definitely one of the top albums of 2018.

5. “Black Times” – Seun Kuti

The youngest son of Late Fela Anikulapo-Kuti; Seun Kuti, released his album; “Black Times” on the 2nd of March, 2018. The album housed some social-activist tracks that were majorly in conformation with addressing the abnormalities of the society. The album is so influencing that it even got recognised by the 2019 Grammy organisers for nomination.

The album consists of songs like “Last Revolutionary,” “kuku Kee Mee,” “African Dreams,” “Struggle Sounds” and many more.

6. “About 30” – Adekunle Gold

Mr Gold’s “About 30” album was released on the 25th of May, 2018 to the delight of anticipating music fans. The album is Adekunle’s sophomore album after the releaase of his first; “Gold.”

The album has 14 tracks and 2 bonus songs, and they were all really cool sounds. The biggest song of the album, “Ire,” gained enormous acceptance from Nigerians due to its originality and very “deep” lyrics and even tipped by some as the only meaningful song to be released in 2018.

Other tracks on the album are “There Is A God,” “Call On Me,” “Surrender” and a lot more.

7. “The Mayor Of Lagos” – Mayorkun

Mayorkun’s debut album since breaking into the music scene back in 2016 is “TMOL” and it was released on the 16th of November, 2018. The young superstar who was signed up by DMW boss; Davido, carefully chose the tracks he assembled on the album as they are really beautiful songs.

The album consists of 14 tracks. The likes of “Red Handed” ft label mates, Peruzzi, Yonda & Dremo, “Sope,” “Tire” and others are songs that fans of music are really rocking with. It’s a good start for the “Mayor of Lagos” in terms of album releases.

8. “Greatness” – DJ Neptune

This is the first and only DJ album that has made our top 10 albums of 2018. DJ Neptune’s “Greatness” album features industry heavyweights such as Davido, Kizz Daniel, Phyno, Mayorkun etc. The album consists of 15 solid tracks and also played host to bangers such as “Wait” ft Kizz Daniel and “Tear Rubber” ft Mayorkun.

The album was released on the 26th of October, 2018.

9. “Ibile Mugabe” – CDQ

This is the first entry by a rapper in our top 10 albums of 2018. CDQ released “Ibile Mugabe” on the 16th of November, 2018 to very warm reception from music fans. The “Flex” rapper who is not new to the album game made a composition of  17 solid tracks on this project, flexing his lyrical and delivery muscles.

The indigenous rapper made a successful piece that featured Davido, Wizkid, Tiwa Savage and a lot more. It is a decent album.

10. “Yung Denzl” – M.I

Yung Denzel” is M.I’s 8th studio project and it was released on the 24th of August, 2018. This album helped a lot of people to have a change of mind about M.I’s rap ingenuity. Prior to the album, some people were of the opinion that the “short black boy” has lost his lyrical and word play prowess which were what made him a force to reckon with in the Nigerian music industry.

Yung Denzel” consists of 10 tracks, and they were all embroiled in almost a perfect delivery of rap projection. Tracks like “You rappers should fix up your lives,”  “The self evaluation of Yung Denzel,” “Another thing” and others were really top notch rap songs.

The top 10 albums of 2018 have been listed above. Hope your favourite made the cut? If not, you can comment your album choice in the section below.


Nifemi is a graduate of the University of Lagos. He's a unique user of the pen when it comes to the expression of whatever. He is editor-in-chief of the organization and also a writer of news, articles, editorials and a lot more to help expand the level of knowledge of the readers and simultaneously have them entertained. A lover of music and football is who he is and a Man Utd die-hard.

Submit your comment

Please enter your name

Please enter your message

23 total pingbacks on this post

tooXclusive © 2021 All Rights Reserved